The State Opera house in Vienna, Austria, also known as Staatsoper, is one of the world's most famous opera houses.


Located on the Ringstrasse, the Vienna State Opera House opened on May 25, 1869. It was the first new building to be erected after the Ringstrasse was completed.


This ne-Renaissance building was designed by Eduard van der Nüll and August Sicardsburg. Van der Nüll designed the interior while Sicardsburg designed the building's outer structure.


Underneath the arches of the loggia, there are five bronze statues, built by Ernst Julius Hähnel, which represent, Drama, Fantasy, Heroism, Humor and Love.


Two beautiful fountains are on either side of the building.


Scenes from operas, painted by Martin von Schwind, decorate the Vienna State opera house's Schwind Foyer, which also showcases busts of famous composers.


Scenes from The Magic Flute, also by Von Schwind, are on the veranda.


The opera house's marble grand staircase has paintings, which represent the opera and the ballet, by Johann Preleuthner, as well as statues of the seven liberal arts by Josef Gasser.


A painting of Fortune, by Franz Dobiaschofsky, can be seen on the ceiling above the staircase.


The opera's Tea Salon, between the grand staircase and the central boxes, was once reserved for Viennese royalty.


Mozart's Don Giovanni was the first opera to be performed at the Vienna State Opera House.


Gustav Mahler was the opera house's director from 1897 to 1907.


In 1945, the Vienna State Opera House was bombed, and much of the building was destroyed. Operas were then performed at two other venues in Vienna, the Voksoper and the Theaters an der Wien, until the original building reponed on November 5, 1955.


Every Year, the state opera house hosts the Vienna Opera Ball on the last Thursday before Shrove Tuesday, as part of the Vienna Carnival. During this society event, the stage is extended to cover the seats in the the auditorium and the opera house becomes an elegant ballroom.